South-West Governors declare state 3-day mourning over Owo Massacre

Written by on June 14, 2022

Oyo State government has declared a three-day mourning period in honour of the victims of the terrorist attacks at the St. Francis Catholic Church, Owo, Ondo State.

The decision,  according to a statement by the Secretary to the State Government, Mrs. Olubamiwo Adeosun, was in compliance with the communique issued at the end of a virtual meeting of the Governors of the Southwest States on Friday, June 10, 2022.

According to the statement, Oyo state Governor Seyi Makinde has approved that flags fly at half-mast from Monday, June 13, 2022, to Wednesday, June 15, in honour of the slain victims of the Owo Catholic Church attack.

The statement read in part: “The government of Oyo State hereby announces a three-day mourning period in honour of the victims of the Owo Catholic Church massacre.

“Flags are to be flown at half-mast between Monday, June 13 and Wednesday, June 15 at all public buildings  and offices.”

The communique was signed by Governors Rotimi Akeredolu (Ondo), Kayode Fayemi (Ekiti), Gboyega Oyetola (Osun), Dapo Abiodun (Ogun), Seyi Makinde (Oyo), and Babajide Sanwoolu (Lagos).

It read further “The Governors condemn, in very strong terms, the horrendous crime perpetrated by terrorists against the people and residents of Owo, Ondo State, and, by extension, the peace-loving people of the South-West.

By Jadesola Ajibola

Current track