Oyo, Rivers, Sokoto, four others ignore FG’s directive

Written by on January 4, 2021

State governments on Sunday differed on the Federal Government’s directive that schools in the country should remain shut till January 18 as part of efforts to curb COVID-19 second wave.

While states such as Kogi, Anambra, Plateau and Ekiti said  their schools would  resume on  January 18, Rivers, Cross River, Gombe, Sokoto, Zamfara, Delta and Oyo states shunned the Federal Government’s directive.

Following the outbreak of COVID-19 second wave, the Presidential Task Force on COVID-19,  at its press conference on December 21, said all  schools in the country would remain shut till January 18.

The PTF Chairman and Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Mr Boss Mustapha, who addressed the press conference, said, “The PTF on the advice of the Federal Ministry of Education, expects that schools would have vacated from the 18th December, 2020 and remain closed till at least the 18th of January, 2021 to enable the measures introduced to take effect.”

The measures, according to the PTF, include social distancing and installation of hand-washing materials.

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Jamz Live

real radio . real people

Current track