Ogundoyin Reelected Oyo Assembly Speaker

Written by on June 14, 2023

The Speaker of the 9th Oyo State House of Assembly, Adebo Ogundoyin, was on Wednesday, re-elected the Speaker of the 10th Assembly.


It was reported that the State Governor, Seyi Makinde, penultimate Monday, endorsed Ogundoyin as Speaker of the 10th Assembly during the commissioning of the electrification and restoration of electricity to Olorunda Ogunsola and environs and Idi Obi, Karen, and Jigan communities in Ona-Ara Local Government area of the state.


Ogundoyin, representing the Ibarapa East state constituency, was re-elected during the inauguration of the 10th Assembly presided over by the Clerk of the House, Yetunde Awe.


The motion for the nomination of Ogundoyin was moved by a member representing Iseyin/Itesiwaju state constituency, Adeola Bamidele and seconded by Babajide Gabriel of Ibadan North Constituency 2.


Ogundoyin, who is the highest ranking member in the Assembly having joined the legislature since 2018, emerged unopposed as there was no other nomination for the position of the speaker.


The 10th Assembly is made up of 28 Peoples Democratic Party members and four All Progressives Congress members.


Also, Abiodun Fadeyi from the Ona-Ara state constituency emerged unopposed as the deputy speaker of the state Assembly.

Current track