FG orders senior directors in Finance Ministry to resign

Written by on August 4, 2023

The Federal Government has ordered all of its directors of Grade Level 17, who have spent eight years on the post to tender their notices for immediate retirement

The directive was contained in a circular signed by the Director of Administration of the Federal Ministry of Finance, Mariya Rufai which was dated August 3, 2023, and was addressed to all directors and heads of units of the ministry.

She noted that this was in line with section 020909 of the revised Public Service Rules (PSR). The Office of the Head of Civil Service of the Federation on July 28, 2023, launched the newly revised Public Service Rules.

It was, however, gathered that the Head of Civil Service of the Federation, Dr Folasade Yemi-Esan, had directed all ministries to ensure immediate implementation of the PSR.

More than 512 directors in the civil service who have spent eight years on the directorate cadre would be forced out of the service with the implementation of the newly revised Public Service Rules, 2021, by the Federal Government.

The memo entitled: “Implementation of Tenure Policy” read: “I write to refer you to the “2021 Revised Edition” of the Public Service Rules which takes effect from 27th July 2023. Consequently, all Directors (SGL 17) who have spent eight years and above on the post are by this Internal Circular directed to submit their notice of retirement in line with Section 020909 of the revised PSR effective from the date stated thereof.

In the revised document, the Federal Government also introduced a tenure policy for Permanent Secretaries. Though the rule states that Permanent Secretaries will now spend four years, it further notes that their tenure is subject to renewal following evaluation of their performances. It also states that directors who spend eight years will compulsorily retire after the period.

Recall that the administration of late President Umaru Yar’Adua, introduced the tenure policy when the then Head of Civil Service of the Federation, Mr. Stephen Oronsaye, was in charge.

Current track