Angry fans slam Eagles poor performance against Zimbabwe

Written by on November 20, 2023

The newsmen stated that unimpressive performance against Zimbabwe in the 2026 World Cup qualifier, some fans have once again slammed the Super Eagles labelling their display a shameful outing,

Jose Peseiro’s men put up an underwhelming performance as they laboured to a 1-1 draw against the Warriors in the second game of the qualifiers.

The draw means the Eagles have just two points from a possible six points having drawn their first game against a lowly-ranked Lesotho side at the Godswill Akpabio Stadium in Uyo on Thursday.

Peseiro made six changes from the side that drew to the Crocodiles with Nathan Tella making his debut for Nigeria while Ola Aina, Bruno Onyemaechi, Joe Aribo, Moses Simon, and Terem Moffi were all named in the Starting XI.

The changes didn’t do much to change the fortune of the team as the Eagles failed to return to winning ways.

The Eagles were at the back foot unlike in their game against Lesotho where they were dominant but despite not being in total control they had a good chance to score in the 15th minute, but debutant Tella failed to conjure a good cross, and Zimbabwe cleared their lines.

Peseiro’s continuous faith in Francis Uzoho backfired after Walter Musona’s 35-yard free-kick beat the goalkeeper to hand the Warriors a lead in the 26th minute.

The goal gave Baltemar Brito’s side the needed confidence as they contained the Eagles threat limiting them to just two shots in the first 45 minutes.

At halftime, the Portuguese tactician made three changes, introducing Bright Osayi-Samuel, Kelechi Iheanacho, and Victor Boniface in place of Aina, Frank Onyeka, and Tella.

The three-time African champions thought they had won a penalty after Zimbabwean goalkeeper, Bernard Donovan, mishandled the ball in the box but the referee awarded an indirect free kick.

Iheanacho almost scored from that opportunity but the sea of yellow Zimbabwean jerseys stopped the ball from creeping into the net.

Tagged as

Current track